A Glühwein Recipe For Christmas Time

Gluewein

Admittedly, winter in Germany is not my favorite time, but Christmas…Christmas time IS MAGICAL here. The Christmas markets are the stuff of fairy tales and old-time xmas charm (perhaps another post on that later), and one of my favorite things about walking around a Christmas market is warming my hands and spirits with some hot mulled wine, glühwein. And when a German friend taught me how to make my own, well now I can warm my soul by the fire in my own home. And someday, when I go back to Texas, I can take a little bit of the Christmas market feeling home with me.

Here’s the recipe so you can relish in the spirit of Christmas the German way too!

 

Use whichever kind of wine you prefer (red is traditional, but white is also common, and I actually prefer it). 1. Start by covering the bottom of a pot with sugar (you can add more or less as you prefer. I just add it until I can't see the bottom of the pot, but the layer is light). 2. Turn the heat on, squeeze some oranges over the sugar. I just pour a little bit of orange juice (or any citrus juice I have) so that it just covers the sugar. Stir and allow the sugar to melt into the juice. 3. When the sugar is dissolved into the juice, add the wine. Make sure the heat is low enough that the liquid doesn’t boil, but is still hot (you don’t want to boil away the alcohol). 4. Add a 3-4 cinnamon sticks, about 2 teaspoons of Cardamom, and about 4 pieces of star anise. Again - this can be altered based on your taste. 5. Cut up a citrus fruit (I use an orange) and add it to the mix. 6. Let it heat for 10 min or so, careful that it doesn't boil. 7. Serve in coffee cups (the heat will break glass if it isn’t meant for hot drinks). Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “A Glühwein Recipe For Christmas Time

  1. It sounds easy & delicious – can’t wait to try it! It’s going to be cold in Texas for Christmas, so that will be the perfect time. Merry Christmas, Whitney & Lance! Enjoy your travels & post pics.

    Like

I would love to hear your thoughts!